This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Share |

2020 IASIU Award Winners

The highly prestigious IASIU Awards are given on an annual basis to individuals who have displayed outstanding investigative services to their individual organizations, as well as to the industry as a whole. 

There are seven award categories which include:

  • Investigator of the Year
  • Analyst of the Year
  • Anti-Fraud Insurance Professional of the Year
  • Public Service
  • Outstanding Service
  • Multi-Jurisdictional Investigative Excellence Award
  • Chapter of the Year

Factors considered in the selection of the winners include the impact of the investigation to the individual’s special investigation unit, their company and the insurance industry. Also considered are the positive effects the investigation has on the outside community, as well as the exceptional qualities of the investigation. Read more about the nomination criteria.  

Nominations are received from various sources including peers, supervisors and other sources within the SIU community. An individual, as well as their organization, should consider the nomination to be a significant honor, representing the hard work of the individual and the support of their respective company in the continual fight against insurance fraud.

In addition to being recognized as a leader within the SIU industry, the National Insurance Crime Bureau  provides a nominal monetary award to winners.

  Award History
Year Name Company/Agency
2020  Matthias Willenbrink  Chubb European Group 
2020 Benjamin Hensel Chubb European Group 
2019   Brad Conley    GEICO
2018   Lindsay Hubbell    GEICO
2017 Julianna Hyde Farmers Insurance
2016 Todd Haltaufderheid American Family Insurance
2015 Jessica Turner, MBA, FFE, CIFI Direct General
2014 Philip Battin Nationwide
2013 Megan Hall GEICO
2012 John Boatwright Travelers
2011 Pamela Stiefel State Farm
2010 John Halliday Sentry
2009 Tom Cockerill State Farm
2008 Beth Shroat Progressive
2007 Ed Welch State Farm
2006 Jon Coachman GEICO
2005 Nancy Keech-Brown Farmers
2004 John DiMinno Liberty Mutual
2003 Nick Bogdan Victoria
2002 L. Dennis Huggins NICB
2001 L. Dennis Chambers Allstate
2000 Michael Mulconery State Farm
1999 John Montalbano GEICO
1998 Richard Wong Allstate
1997 John Huber Liberty Mutual
1996 Martin White Harford
1995 Robert Croce USAA
1994 Michael Zyrkowski Country Mutual
1993 Mark Stolle GEICO
1992 James McAvoy Aetna
1991 Donald Brown Ins. Corp. of British Columbia
1990 Lou Neidich Keystone
1989 Steven Runfola USAA
Year Name Company/Agency
2020  N/A   
2019    N/A    
2018    Deborah Heilig   GEICO
2017 Mary Durden GEICO
2016 Elizabeth Somers Farmers
2015 Kimberly Meguiar, FCLS, CIFA Esurance
2014 Mike Haug Farmers
2013 Shana Marks NICB
2012 Mary Durden GEICO
2011 Anna Kotsovos NICB
2010 N/A N/A
2009 Michelle Bergeron Esurance
2008 Candace (Candy) Taylor Nationwide
2007 Diann Williford NICB
2006 Andrew Marane Progressive
 Year    Name    Company/Agency
2020  Carol LaDuke, CIFI, FCLA, FCLS Allstate 
2019   Amanda Skidd   Nationwide
Year Name Company/Agency
2020  David Kotschenreuther  Texas Dept. of Licensing & Regulation 
2020  Michael Shirk  Texas Dept. of Licensing & Regulation 
2019    Angela DeWitt   Toledo Fire Department 
2018    Joshua Felsen   Baltimore City State's Attorney's Office
2017 Sgt. Ada Cruz & Sgt. Raul Cruz Houston Police Department
2016 Wesley Rowe NICB
2015 Reed Kartchner Utah Insurance Fraud Division
2014 Don Howell NICB
2013 Det. Dwight Murpy Florida Fraud Bureau
2012 Wendy Derzaph L.A. County D.A.'s Office
2011 Dave Klimek FBI
2010 Dep. Robert Gogolin Hillsborough County FL
2009 Michael Vergon BATF
2008 Det. Alex Gilinets Los Angeles Sheriff's Dept.
2007 Det. Henry (Tommy) Clark Florida Fraud Bureau
2006 Det. Patty Smallwood Westmont (IL) Police Dept.
2005 Lt. Alan Carpenter Louisiana State Police
2004 Vickie Neal NICB
2003 Brian Flood Dallas County DA's Office
2002 John Massucco San Diego DA's Office
Year Name Company/Agency
2020  Charles Starr, CIFI, FCLA, FCLS  Nebraska Department of Insurance 
2019    Lou Larose   Amica 
2018    Walter Swett   Nationwide
2017 Ellen Withers State Farm
2017 Lori Person NICB
2017 Condon & Cook Condon & Cook
2016 Dennis Kass Manning & Kass
2015 James Hammonds, FCLS, CFEI GEICO
2014 Mary Sadousky MetLife
2013 Ralph Burnham PA Fraud Prevention Auth.
2012 Walter Swett Nationwide
2011 Miles Watters State Farm
2010 Cathy Gicker Allstate
2009 Michael (Mike) McKee NICB
2008 Don Howell NICB
2007 Fred Burkhardt NICB
2006 Jimmie Jeter NICB
2005 Glenn Wolf Liberty Mutual
2004 John Butchko New Jersey Fraud Bureau
2003 Thomas (Tom) Welsh NICB
2002 Patrick (Pat) McCann Progressive
2020  Pinnacol Assurance, Colorado Attorney General, National Insurance Crime Bureau, Nebraska Department of Insurance 
2019    State of Utah Insurance Department Fraud Division, State of Utah Attorney General's Office, Office of Inspector General - Department of Transportation, Progressive Insurance, Federal Bureau of Investigation, US Attorney's Office
 2018   Esurance, Dallas County District Attorney's Office, Dallas Fire/Rescue Department, Texas Department of Insurance
2017 Georgia Fraud Division State Insurance Commissioner, GEICO, Progressive Insurance
2016 National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB), California Board of Pharmacy, California Department of Insurance, Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Companies, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), Los Angeles Police Department, Medical Board of California, Orange County District Attorney’s Office, and San Bernardino District Attorney’s Office
2015 The North Carolina Department of Insurance (NCDOI), the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB)
Insurance companies included: GEICO, Foremost, Markel American, Nationwide, State Farm, Progressive, American Reliable, GMAC, Allstate, Travelers, Alpha, NC Farm Bureau, Rep West, and USAA.
2019   South Texas     
2018    Louisiana    
2017 North Texas 
2016 New York State
Year Name Company/Agency
2019    Margaret Fleming   South Carolina Farm Bureau
2019    Dennis Jay   Coalition Against Insurance Fraud
2018    Walter Swett   Nationwide 
2018    Brent Walker   Travelers
2017 John Kloc Sentry Insurance
2016 Andris Berzins Federated Insurance
2013 Ronald (Ron) Bryant Erie
2012 Christopher (Chris) Gormley Nationwide
2011 Ellen Withers State Farm
2011 Lou Larose Amica
2010 Douglas (Doug) Ashbridge Farmers
2010 Lars Skaar Vesta Forsikring AS
2008 David (Dave) Rioux Erie
2008 Mary Sadousky Metropolitan Prop/Cas
2008 Thomas (Tom) Welsh NICB
2007 Mik Kelly Hartford
2006 Cathy Gicker Allstate
2004 Glenn Wolf Liberty Mutual
2004 Tommy Short Nationwide
2004 Daniel (Dan/Fitz) Fitzgerald Hartford
2001 Jay Williams State Farm
2001 Gerald (Jerry/Zap) Zappolo Royal & Sun Alliance
2000 Douglas (Doug) Blank SAFECO
2000 Donald (Don) Howell National Car Rental System
1997 Vincent (Vinnie) Rapp Erie Insurance
1997 Mark Kleine Omaha Property & Casualty
1997 Lou Neidich Keystone
1996 Dale G. Cordy Metropolitan Prop/Cas
1995 Robert J. (Bob) Smith Metropolitan Prop/Cas
1995 William J. (Bill) Lundy American Family
1995 Donald (Don) Nettle USAA



Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal