Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Webinar: Undetermined Fire? Don't Throw in the Towel
Register Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

Please join us for this 1 hour webinar is being presented by Robert Brady, Principal, Brown and James Law Firm on Wednesday, August 12th at 12:00 pm PT, 1:00 pm MT, 2:00 pm CT, 3:00 pm ET.

 Export to Your Calendar 8/12/2020
When: August 12, 2020
2:00 pm CT
Where: Online Webinar
N83 W13410 Leon Road
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin  53051
United States
Contact: Isaiah Perez
414 375-2992 ext. 1109


Online registration is available until: 8/10/2020
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Rating level: Intermediate/Advanced 

This session will attempt to dispel the common misconception that an insurance carrier cannot raise an arson defense to coverage when the cause of the fire has been classified as undetermined. The speaker will give an overview of the insurance carrier's burden of proof in arson cases - specifically the preponderance of evidence standard applicable in many states. The speaker will then discuss how an insurance carrier can meet its burden of proof, even when faced with an undetermined fire, through the use of circumstantial evidence relating to motive and opportunity. The session will provide a real-life example of an arson case, recently tried by the speaker, which resulted in a verdict for the insurance carrier, even though the fire experts classified the cause of the fire as undetermined. 

Registration is free to IASIU members and $50 for non-members to attend this event. If you are not a member of IASIU who works in SIU and would like to register please contact our office.   

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal
This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.